Meet the 2012 Homecoming Steering Committee!

After a lengthy application process with two rounds of interviews, the 2012 Homecoming Steering Committee was selected! These committee members are determined to make the 101st Homecoming at Mizzou more memorable than ever before!

Homecoming Directors

Richard Devero

Hometown: Dallas, Texas

Year: Junior

Major: Mechanical Engineering

Why did you want to be on HC Steer Co?

I wanted to get involved with one of the school’s greatest traditions, and wanted to give back to a school that has given me so much.

What are you most excited about this fall?

I am really excited to see the overall excitement that this university is about to show the country. I think everyone is readyfor football season to get here and everyone is ready to show off our magnificent campus to our new competitors. When October 27th rolls around, you can bet that Mizzou will be ready!

Karee Hackel

Hometown: Dyer, IN

Year: Junior

Major: Magazine Journalism

Why did you want to be on HC Steer Co?

Homecoming is really what helped me to establish a personal and unique connection to the university that I didn’t necessarily have as an out-of-state student. Taking on the role of head liaison for my Greek chapter sophomore year, I completely feel in love with everything about this great tradition. I knew that my college experience wouldn’t be complete if I wasn’t a member of the Homecoming Steering Committee.

What are you most excited about this fall?

I’m excited to see how Tigers transition into the SEC! With Homecoming, going to the SEC gives us an amazing opportunity to really display what Mizzou is all about and show other schools just how much pride we have in our university.

Jordyn Klackner

Hometown: St. Charles, MO

Year: Junior

Major: Secondary English Education

Why did you want to be on HC Steer Co?

I simply love everything about Homecoming and jumped at the opportunity to play a role in uniting all Tigers to celebrate one of Mizzou’s richest traditions.

What are you most excited about this fall?

I just cannot wait to see students, alumni, Columbia community members and all Tigers soaking up every bit of excitement that is a part of this celebration. After working towards something for a year, the greatest reward is watching everyone else have the time of their lives.

Blood

Cale Roberts

Hometown: Excelsior Springs MO

Year: Sophomore

Major: Biological Sciences

Why did you want to be on HC Steer Co?

To help give back to the Mizzou community and carry on one of the top traditions at Mizzou!

What are you most excited about this fall?

I am most excited to see how each individual event of homecoming fits together to create the best celebration of history, unity and tradition in the country!

Zachary McGowan

Hometown: Kansas City, MO

Year: Sophomore

Major: Journalism (International Strategic Communication)

Why did you want to be on HC Steer Co?

I wanted to contribute to one of the greatest collegiate traditions Mizzou has to offer, and provide input anyway I could.

What are you most excited about this fall?

In three words: Homecoming 2012, Tiger Stripe Ice Cream and the SEC.

Maggie Omastiak

Hometown: Oak Lawn, IL

Year: Sophomore

Major: Journalism with an emphasis in strategic communications; a minor in business 

Why did you want to be on HC Steer Co?

I didn’t have my own homecoming in high school because I went to an all-girls school. Coming to Mizzou, my first and second homecoming experiences were just absolutely incredible: there is so much school spirit and it feels like a family. I wanted to be on the Homecoming Steering Committee because I wanted to be able to create that incredible experience for the new generations that have yet to experience it, and for the old generations who have helped form our great tradition.

What are you most excited about this fall?

I’m most excited for our transition into the SEC this fall and how will it impact our students and our spirit. I think it’s going to be a very exciting season. I’m also incredibly excited to see if we can break some more records for the Homecoming Blood Drive this fall!

Campus Decorations

Kelsey Kerwin

Hometown: Dallas, TX

Year: Sophomore

Major: Broadcast Journalism

Why did you want to be on HC Steer Co?

To meet new people and to be involved on a side of Homecoming I have not been a part of before.

What are you most excited about this fall?

Obviously the night of Campus Decorations is going to be the best night of anyones fall semester:]

Molly Loeffler

Hometown: Elmhurst, IL

Year: Sophomore

Major: Journalism-Strategic Communication

Why did you want to be on HC Steer Co?

Homecoming is my favorite Mizzou tradition and being on SteerCo is something I have wanted to do since my first Homecoming freshman year.

What are you most excited about this fall?

I am just really excited to see everything come together.  Everyone has presented some great ideas and I really think this will be one of the best Homecomings yet.

Charlie Stoltze

Hometown: St. Louis, MO

Year: Sophomore

Major: Finance

Why did you want to be on HC Steer Co?

Because I want to look back and say I helped make homecoming awesome!

What are you most excited about this fall?

Kissing the 50 at the game

Campus Outreach

Lauren Damico

Hometown: Kansas City, MO

Year: Junior

Major: Political Science

Why did you want to be on HC Steer Co?

Homecoming is a great catalyst for alumni and students to reconnect with their Mizzou roots. I wanted to be part of the event that reminds all Tigers how proud we are to be members of the Mizzou Family.

What are you most excited about this fall?

I am excited to experience our first season in the SEC!

Simoné McGautha

Hometown: Kansas City, MO

Year: Sophomore

Major: Secondary Education-English

Why did you want to be on HC Steer Co?

I wanted to be on SteerCo because it allowed me to be apart of an amazing tradition.

What are you most excited about this fall?

I am most excited to get out there and get everyone involved in some amazing events. As campus relations committee, I am able to be the bridge between different types of people on campus, while getting them together for a common goal-the love of Mizzou!

Gaby Rodriguez

Hometown: Monett, MO

Year: Freshmen

Major: Biochemistry/Business

Why did you want to be on HC Steer Co? 

I wanted to help making Homecoming as welcoming and inclusive as possible. Homecoming is a time to have the whole campus come together as one. Plus, I wanted to part of the best aspect at Mizzou, Homecoming!

What are you most excited about this fall?

I’m excited for the S.E.C. games and spending tons of time with my Homecoming family!

Merchandise

Brad Fowler

Hometown: Kansas City, MO

Year: Junior

Major: Political Science/ journalism–strategic communication

Why did you want to be on HC Steer Co?

I wanted to be on Homecoming Steering Committee because I wanted to recreate the memories I have from past Homecomings for other students.

What are you most excited about this fall?

I’m most excited about being a part of the SEC. I am so fortunate to be a student during such an important transition for Mizzou. 

Krista Villers

Hometown: Liberty, Missouri

Year: Sophomore

Major: Textile and Apparel Management

Why did you want to be on HC Steer Co? I’m really passionate about my major and thought that being a part of the Merchandise Committee would be an excellent learning experience with regards to my future career path. I also really love Homecoming and wanted to play a bigger role in the overall event than simply just attending the parade, campus decorations and the game!

What are you most excited about this fall? I’m so excited to see everyone wearing the Homecoming shirts for this year around campus that the Merchandise Committee designed with The Flying Cow Shirt Co.!

Parade

Maggie Nestor

Hometown: St. Louis, MO

Year: Junior

Major: Secondary Social Studies Education

Why did you want to be on HC Steer Co?

When I was a freshman, I had to write an article about all the Homecoming traditions and events for The Maneater, which required me to work with some of the 2009 Steering Committee members. Getting to see firsthand all the awesome work that the committee did inspired me, and since then I always knew I wanted to be a major part of Homecoming and all the work it takes to uphold its traditions.

What are you most excited about this fall?

I’m most excited to create strong friendships with my fellow Steer Co-ers as well as see all the work come together, especially for my sub-committee, Parade.

Katelyn Young

Hometown: Rogersville, MO

Year: Sophomore

Major: Strategic Communications and Political Science

Why did you want to be on HC Steer Co?

I wanted to be on Homecoming Steer Co because I grew up coming to Mizzou Homecoming festivities, and I absolutely adore Mizzou and all of the traditions that go along with it. Steer Co gives me the opportunity to help plan something that I care so much about.

What are you most excited about this fall?

I can’t wait to continue getting to know all of my fellow steer co members, and I’m looking forward to the all nighters working on planning the parade!!

Greg Loeffler

Hometown: Bristow, OK

Year: Junior

Major: Journalism

Why did you want to be on HC Steer Co?

I applied to be on SteerCo because I love homecoming and everything it means for the thousands of alumni all over the world and the current students here on campus. In just my three years here, Mizzou has given so much to me and working on the Steering Committee is just a small way I can give back.

What are you most excited about this fall?

The parade, of course! I am a member of the parade committee and (spoiler alert) this year, it’s going to be the best ever.

Trent Kruessel

Hometown: Salisbury, MO

Year: Junior

Major: Mechanical Engineering

Why did you want to be on HC Steer Co?

I want to give back to the University in some major way before I graduate.  SteerCo was the perfect way because I always jump in hardcore with Homecoming anyway.

What are you most excited for this fall?

I’m most excited for the late nights, extra deadlines, and facing this humongous project called “Homecoming” with the best leaders Mizzou has.

Public Relations

Nina Bolka

Hometown: Dallas, TX

Year: Junior

Major: Science and Agricultural Journalism

Why did you want to be on HC Steer Co?

The Homecoming traditions at MU are extraordinary to be a part of. As a rising senior, this fall marked my last chance to plan Homecoming events. I’m so happy to have the opportunity to be a part of this committee and make HC 2012 even better than the last.

What are you most excited about this fall?

Getting to spend time with my fellow steer-coers and settling into the SEC!

Tom Jarvis

Hometown: Knoxville, TN

Year: Junior

Major: Strategic Communication

Why did you want to be on HC Steer Co?

Homecoming my freshman year was the first time that I fell in love with Mizzou. It’s a truly unique experience that you can’t get anywhere else. Mizzou has done so much for me the last few years that helping out with its most notable tradition is the least I can do as repayment.

What are you most excited about this fall?

Although it’s a pretty obvious answer, I’m most excited about our move to the SEC. It will allow an entirely new audience to experience all of the great things that Mizzou has to offer. Also, as someone from Knoxville who was raised to cheer against Kentucky in sports, I can’t wait to see us beat them in football during our Homecoming game.

Crystal Friedman 

Hometown: St. Charles, Missouri

Year:  Junior (in fall)

Major: Journalism- Strategic Communication

Why did you want to be on HC Steer Co? 

I wanted to be on the Steering Committee simply because I love everything about Homecoming at Mizzou. I thought it would be a great opportunity to play a role in one of the greatest traditions the university has to offer! 
What are you most excited about this fall?
I am really excited to introduce some new ideas that the Steering Committee has come up with for the fall. I also cannot wait to get to know the people I am working with a lot better. Together, we are going to make the 2012 Homecoming the best, most inclusive event Mizzou has ever seen!

Service

Name: Courtney Doll

Hometown: Sugar Land, TX

Year: Sophomore

Major: Broadcast Journalism and Political Science

Why did you want to be on HC Steer Co? I wanted to be on Homecoming Steering Committee because homecoming is my favorite Mizzou tradition! I want to give back to Mizzou by helping plan one of the biggest things that happens on campus all year!

What are you most excited about this fall? I’m most excited for my family to get to experience their first Mizzou homecoming! They’ve heard stories about how great it is, and I can’t wait for them to experience campus decorations, parade, the homecoming football game…all of it! 

Darnell Cage

Hometown: St. Louis, MO

Year: Junior

Major: Mechanical Engineering

Luke Landolt

 Hometown: St. Louis, MO

Year: Sophomore

Major: Biochemistry

Special Events

Ethan Colbert

Hometown: Frankford, MO

Year: Sophomore

Major: Political Science and Journalism

Why did you want to be on HC Steer Co?

I wanted to be on Homecoming Steering Committee because I wanted to be a part of one of the greatest traditions of the University of Missouri. Homecoming at the University of Missouri is like an event unlike any other and to be a part of this 101st Homecoming is going to be of this experience I will never forget.

What are you most excited about this fall?

Besides all the pomp and circumstance of the Homecoming Parade, the creativity of Talent, the Mizzou pride on display at Decorate the District, I am most looking forward to welcoming our guests from the University of Kentucky and showing them all that the University of Missouri has to offer and how warm and inviting the Mizzou family is. For many of them this will be their first time experiencing a Mizzou Homecoming and I’m excited to show them how all these different tigers can come together to form one big roar for Mizzou.

Sophia Mullineaux

Hometown: St. Louis, MO

Year: Sophomore

Major: Finance and Banking

Why did you want to be on HC Steer Co?

Why did I want to be on Homecoming Steering Committee:  It always seems that when speaking with someone about Mizzou, Homecoming never fails to come up.  I wanted to actively be involved with the planning of Homecoming and give back to a tradition that means so much to so many.

What are you most excited about this fall?

What are you most excited about this fall:  I am really looking forward to our first Homecoming in the SEC!

Jordan Denker

Hometown: St. Charles, MO

Year: Sophomore

Major: Business Finance

Why did you want to be on HC Steer Co?

I wanted to be on Homecoming Steer CO because I love everything about homecoming at Mizzou and wanted to be able to contribute to its success.

What are you most excited about this fall?

Being a part of this amazing group of people, and seeing first hand how important homecoming is to the alumni.


Talent

Katie Ottolin

Hometown: Wheaton, IL

Year: Sophomore

Major: Sport Management

Why did you want to be on HC Steer Co?

I wanted to be on HC Steerco because I really wanted to get involved on campus.  I have had friends on Steerco, and they always seemed to have a good time and meet amazing people.  Lastly, being on steerco gives you a lot of leadership experience, which I knew I wanted to be apart of.

What are you most excited about this fall?

I am most excited to see everything being pulled off and being able to take pride in our work.  I am also excited to become close with the committee, and stay friends with these people that I otherwise wouldn’t of even known.

Kyle Lindner

Hometown: Chesterfield, MO

Year: Junior

Major: Biological Sciences

Why did you want to be on HC Steer Co?

I wanted to be apart of Homecoming Steering Committee because I absolutely LOVE Mizzou’s most cherished tradition.  I have been a Tiger at heart from a very young age and and I knew that being able to make a positive impact on this community through Homecoming Steering Committee would be the highest honor I would have ever received.  There is nothing better to me than having a hand in something that is way bigger than myself so I am very grateful for this opportunity.

What are you most excited about this fall?

When I think of the amount of excitement that is waiting for us next fall it makes my head spin! If I were to pick a single event that I am most excited for it would have to be my one true love, Talent!

Leanne Mathew

 Hometown: Chillicothe, MO

Year: Sophomore

Major: Animal Sciences

Keenen Clerkley 

Hometown: Eden Prairie, MN

Year: Sophomore

Major: Finance and Real Estate

Why did you want to be on HC Steer Co? 

The Homecoming Tradition has been a big part of my life. With both of my parents being alumnus the university, I started attending Homecoming at a very young age. Since the age of five, I have only missed a couple Mizzou homecomings; I looked forward to Homecoming as one would look forward to Christmas. From watching the game on the Rock M as a child to being in the front row of the student section painted up, the homecoming tradition has a true and pride filled place in my heart. To be a part of the organization that sparked my love for this university is an honor.

What are you most excited about this fall?

I am most excited about being able to see my little brother experience the Mizzou Homecoming Tradition for the first time. Since he is the only one in our family who was not born in the state of Missouri, he has missed out on a great tradition of this university and I am excited to watch his Mizzou spirit ignite.

Traditions

Ali Frain

Hometown: St. Louis, MO

Year: Junior

Major: Marketing

Why did you want to be on HC Steer Co?

Ever since I knew I was a Missouri Tiger, I have been nothing but proud to call Mizzou my school and the MU community my family. It meant such much to me to be a member of the Homecoming Steering Committee because I wanted to maintain and to better one of Mizzou’s greatest traditions, and I wanted to try give back to a University that has given me so much. Also, I was so excited to have the opportunity to work with such an esteemed group of students to make our 101st Homecoming one of the most memorable yet!

What are you most excited about this fall?

I can’t wait for everything the fall will bring, but I am especially excited to get to walk out onto the field at half-time!

Sean Michael O’Brien

Hometown: Elsberry, MO

Year: Junior

Major: Agricultural Education- Teaching Option

Why did you want to be on HC Steer Co?

Homecoming has always been special for me. I remember participating in it as a high school student. I also wanted to use my Tiger spirit to improve upon the great traditions that we have at MU.

What are you most excited about this fall?

I think that being part of something so special, especially during my senior year, is going to make a lot of lasting memories and friends. I can’t wait to join the SEC and help plan all of the traditions that Mizzou is so proud of.

Stacy Massey

Hometown: Columbia, MO

Year: Junior

Major: Health Science: Pre Physical Therapy

What did you want to be on HC Steer Co?

I wanted to be on HC Steer Co because I viewed it as a way to give back to an experience that gave me so much throughout my three years at Mizzou. I also feel so passionately about Mizzou traditions as well as homecoming in general and felt a need to play a larger role in the entire event.

What are you most excited about this fall?

I am most excited about Mizzou being in the SEC. I am so ecstatic to see the changes that will be made as well as our wonderful traditions being shared with a whole new division of NCAA teams.

Leave a Reply

